Assessment Annual Reviewer and editorial excellence Awards

In order to spotlight those individuals who are doing the important, yet often unappreciated, work within the peer review system, the Assessment Section of APA Division 12 has provided financial incentives to reward and recognize outstanding service by peer reviewers and associate editors at the journal Assessment. Based on their performance in the 2022 calendar year the following scholars received awards that were accompanied by a cash prize:

  • The 2022 Reviewer of the Year for Assessment is Kasey Stanton. Dr. Stanton accepted and completed 10 review requests in 2022 and each was highly detailed, constructive, and completed in an average of 7 days! In addition, 6 other peer reviewers received Honorable Mention for their invaluable service to the field. Those individuals are: Jamie Anderson, Erin Buchanan, Carmen Diaz-Batanero, Laszlo Erdodi, Todd Girard, and Josh Oltmanns!
  • The 2022 Award for Editorial Excellence goes to Tom Fergus! Dr. Fergus routinely handles a high number of manuscripts at Assessment, with 32 manuscripts decided in 2022. His decision letters are routinely constructive and well-detailed and rendered in a timely manner. We also want to recognize the exemplary editorial service by Dr. Mike Chmielewski and Dr. Cristina Crego for their outstanding service as associate editors at Assessment.

Please join us in applauding and recognizing these members of our field who consistently do the behind the scenes work that undergirds the peer review system!

Distinguished Contributions to Assessment Psychology

Each year, the Section IX Board recognizes a distinguished member of the assessment psychology community at the annual American Psychological Association convention. Award recipients are selected for significant career achievements to further the science, teaching, and practice of psychological assessment.

Award talk from Yossef Ben-Porath, recipient of the 2020 Distinguished Contributions to Assessment Psychology Award [2020]


Radhika Krishnamurthy receives the 2019 Distinguished Contributions to Assessment Psychology Award from Martin Sellbom [August 9, 2019]

Past Distinguished Contributions to Assessment Psychology Recipients

  • 2022: Paul Aribisi, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
  • 2021: Elena Grigorenko, Ph.D., University of Houston and Scott Lilienfeld, Ph.D., Emory University (posthumous award)
  • 2020: Yossef Ben-Porath, Ph.D., Kent State University
  • 2019: Radhika Krishnamurthy, Ph.D., Florida Tech
  • 2018: R. Michael Bagby, Ph.D., University of Toronto 
  • 2017: Stephen E. Finn, Ph.D., Therapeutic Assessment Institute 
  • 2016: Robert F. Bornstein, Ph.D., Adelphi University 
  • 2015: Susana Urbina, Ph.D., University of North Florida 
  • 2014: Cecil R. Reynolds, Ph.D., Texas A&M University 
  • 2013: Irving B. Weiner, Ph.D., University of South Florida 
  • 2012: Auke Tellegen, Ph.D. University of Minnesota 
  • 2011: Gregory J. Meyer, Ph.D. Loyola University of Chicago
  • 2010: John R. Graham, Ph.D. Kent State University
  • 2009: Robert P. Archer, Ph.D., Eastern Virginia Medical School

Section IX Student Research Fellowship

Criteria for Award. The purpose of the award is to promote research in the area of clinical assessment by current graduate students. Only studies with a primary emphasis on assessment will be considered. Some examples include investigations of the psychometric functioning of psychological tests or use of psychological tests in the prediction of clinically-relevant characteristics or outcomes. Awardees and their mentors must be members of Section IX in order to apply, and awardees are expected to present their results at an American Psychological Association (APA) or assessment-oriented research conference and/or submit their findings for publication. One award of $500 will be distributed each year, approximately one month after the annual meeting of the American Psychological Association. Applications are due annually on August 31st.


  • Student and mentor must be members of Section IX of APA Division 12.
  • Students must have one publication (in press is accepted) or first-authored professional presentation.
  • All funds must be expended directly for the proposed investigation.
  • Student will present findings at an American Psychological Association (APA) or assessment-oriented research conference or submit their findings for publication.
  • Funds cannot be used for salary for the awardee or mentor.

Please complete and email this form and your CV to the Section IX Secretary:

Past Section IX Student Research Fellowship Recipients

  • 2022: Cole Lemaster, M.A., M.S.
    • Mentor: Paul Ingram, Ph.D., Texas Tech University
  • 2021: Rachel Chavin, M.A.
    • Mentor: Sara Lowmaster, Ph.D., University of South Dakota
  • 2020: No award
  • 2019: Cassie Boness, M.A.
    • Mentor: Kenneth J. Sher, Ph.D., University of Missouri
  • 2018: Nicholas Kavish, M.A.
    • Title: A Psychometric Evaluation of the Add Health Psychopathy Scale and NLSY97 Callous-Unemotional Traits Scale in Two Samples
    • Mentor: Jaime Anderson, Ph.D., Sam Houston State University
  • 2016 & 2017: No award
  • 2015: Ryan Marek, M.A. 
    • Title: Psychopathology and Five-Year Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass Outcomes
    • Mentor: Yossef S. Ben-Porath, Ph.D., Kent State University
  • 2014: Chelsea Sleep, B.A.
    • Title: Elaborating Borderline and Psychopathic Personality Disorders with the Computerized Adaptive Test of Personality Disorder (CAT-PD) in a Female Correctional Samples
    • Mentor: Dustin B. Wygant, Ph.D., Eastern Kentucky University
  • 2013: Allison Wainer, M.A. 
    • Title: Validation of the Social Communication Checklist
    • Mentor: Brooke Ingersoll, Ph.D., Michigan State University


©2009-2018 American Psychological Association Division 12 [Society of Clinical Psychology] Section IX [Assessment Psychology]. All Rights Reserved.